Improving the health and wellness of the communities we serve

As your healthcare District, the Board of Directors and Staff endeavor to be transparent in managing the public resources entrusted to us and to facilitate an open partnership with our constituents. This website is dedicated to facilitating communication with those we serve and providing a transparent documentation of the healthcare District's business to the fullest extent possible. We strive to keep the information on this site current and up to date. Inquiries regarding the information provided, or about actions taken by the Board of Directors may be communicated by:

  • Calling our office and speaking with the Board Clerk, Karen Graley, at 760.820.9229
  • Sending an email to the Board Clerk at

Review meeting agendas and minutes of recent and long past meetings.

View our historical timeline and photos covering over 40 years of service.


Hi-Desert Memorial Health Care District is a special hospital district created by the state of California to access locally-controlled funds to meet health needs of the rural population in the Morongo Basin. Specifically, our healthcare District encompasses 1,800 square miles, from Pioneer Town to Wonder Valley, from Johnson Valley to the Joshua Tree National Park.

Two local hospitals came together to create the Hi-Desert Memorial Health Care District and built a centrally located medical center in Joshua Tree. Hi-Desert Medical Center received its first patient in November, 1976. Forty years later, having received the approval of its constituents living within the District’s boundaries, the medical center was leased to Tenet Healthcare Corp on July 15, 2015 for a period of 30 years.

After the lease of the medical center, the District changed its name to Morongo Basin Healthcare District to better represent the area that it serves and to separate itself and minimize association with the medical center. Today, the District partners with Hi-Desert Family Health Clinics and the Morongo Basin Healthcare District Foundation to fulfill its mission to improve the health and wellness of the communities it serves.

The District’s Board of Directors are Dianne Markle-Greenhouse, Misty Evans, Dale Mondary, Greg Brown and Debra Savitt. They are publically-elected representatives who are tasked with governing the healthcare District. Ever mindful that they represent the community in managing public assets, the Directors welcome public feedback and encourage people to attend the monthly meetings to comment on information relative to the mission of the healthcare District. Meetings are convened at the District’s office located at 6530 La Contenta Road in Yucca Valley.

Our mission is to improve the health and wellness of the communities we serve. We envision a healthy Morongo Basin.