Improving the health and wellness of the communities we serve


There are three boards under the District’s banner, each serving a vital role in leadership and the fulfillment of their mission.

MORONGO BASIN HEALTHCARE DISTRICT board has five members elected by voters living within the District’s geographic boundaries. Their focus is directed to the business of the healthcare District.

MORONGO BASIN HEALTHCARE DISTRICT FOUNDATION board is comprised of the District Board of Directors. As the non-profit philanthropic arm of the healthcare District, the focus is supporting the District’s initiatives through grants and select fund raising events.

COMMUNITY HEALTH CENTER has a board comprised of 9-25 members with 51% of their membership being patients of the clinics and 49% being community leaders. Their focus is directed to the business of the Morongo Basin Community Health Center.


  • Current term of office expires December, 2022
  • Initial term began July, 2021 (appointed)
  • Currently serving as Treasurer of the Board

Debra Savitt is a retired Doctor of Chiropractic medicine with 39 years of practice experience. She has worked for hospice (end of life care) for the past 13 years. She brought holistic healthcare to patients who are in hospice. Additionally, she was Director of Spiritual Counselors, Volunteer coordinator and Bereavement coordinator for hospice in the Palm Spring area. She volunteered for Coachella Valley Vounteers in Medicine in which she set up her chiropractic table under the canopy of trees to treat the homeless population, working in concert with medical doctors, dentists, social workers, nurses and a psychologist to provide excellent care to those in need.

Dr. Debra believes that if we uplift one another, we uplift the world. She feels honored that she was appointed to the Morongo Basin Healthcare District board of directors to fill a vacated seat. She is also seated on the Morongo Basin Community Health Center governing board.